Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Tips to writing interesting chord progressions?

Default Tips to writing interesting chord progressions?

Note: This is copied and pasted from the exact same thread I made in the MP.com forums. I thought I'd post it here too to get some more responses =)

I've been really stuck with the usual boring rock progression. I stumbled upon this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FxSptvviV6w and I'm not sure how well it actually works on guitar, since the guitar's pretty damn limited when it comes to chords.

I'd appreciate it if we discuss some of the approaches popular songwriters in prog have when it comes to chord progressions. I'm pretty new to the whole chordal approach to songwriting as I had always been more focused on riffs based around a single root (like Metallica).

Yeah I watched the first bit of the video, it sounds like its about linear chord progressions as opposed to thinking in keys which is how we are generally taught in most basic theory classes. For me personally learning modern jazz and fusion helped me break out of using boring chord progressions.

The basic idea is that chords are separate entities of their own in no relation to any key. The relate to the other chords usually by use of common tones. Say a C chord has a C E and G in it. Well an Abmaj7 also has a G and C in it. So this would be a very strong progression.

Crap I gotta go, I'll finish my post later, i'll edit more stuff in lol.
    John Petrucci - Life is like a pumpkin, it's hard on the outside but once you open it up it's very gooey

Crimson Sunset

Quote Originally Posted by Wolfgangshredder

For me personally learning modern jazz and fusion helped me break out of using boring chord progressions.

Could you suggest me some bands/musicians that play modern jazz / fusion ? thanks !

TS, check out this site:
    http://satriani.worldsgreatestguitar...xis/index.html